Search official boards for Ausbildung (dual company+school or school-based). Apply to the training company, not through Opporiva. A listing is not a visa. Third-country applicants generally need a vocational-training visa after a contract. Make it in Germany and BA do not place you.
Who can apply
Nationality
BA and Make it in Germany boards can be searched from abroad. A vacancy does not state that every nationality may take up the contract. Third-country entry generally needs a vocational-training visa.
Language
Teaching is in German. The Federal Employment Agency says B1 German is generally needed for the training visa; BAMF words the §16a condition as ‘adequate knowledge of German’ without naming a level, and the Tunis embassy checklist asks for a B1 certificate from an ALTE examiner (Goethe-Institut, ÖSD, telc, TestDaF). Individual ads may ask for more.
Search permit (alternative route)
A residence permit of up to nine months to look for a training place in Germany: under 35, B1 German, a school-leaving certificate giving access to university, livelihood secured.
Right to work / visa
Dual in-company Ausbildung counts as employment for visa purposes. Finding a place is not a residence title. Livelihood must be shown for the visa; amounts are on the 2026 visa page.
Funding and what it does not cover
Training allowance paid by the company (amount set in the contract)Amount checked on 23 October 2026
An Ausbildung is not a scholarship. In company-based training the employer pays a training allowance (Ausbildungsvergütung) that rises each year and depends on the occupation (Federal Employment Agency, checked 23 Oct 2026). The same page warns that the allowance is often not enough to live on and that the visa requires proof that your living costs are covered for the whole training period. The minimum amount required for 2026 and for 2027 departures is to be confirmed with the German Embassy or on the official Make it in Germany portal. According to BAMF, purely school-based training is generally unpaid.
Covered
Monthly training allowance paid by the training company (amount depends on the contract and occupation)
Advice and training-place search from the Federal Employment Agency, free of charge according to the BA
You pay
Travel to Germany, housing and visa fees
Recognition of your school-leaving certificate: the BA says it costs money (amount not stated)
German lessons and the B1 exam before departure
Top-up funds if the allowance falls short (blocked account or formal declaration of commitment; amount to be confirmed)
How to apply
Pick an occupation and aim for B1 German
Vocational school is taught in German and the BA says B1 is generally needed for the visa. Start German before you search.
Check recognition of your school certificate
Your school-leaving qualification (baccalauréat) must be recognised in Germany. The anabin database lists the competent bodies; recognition is not free.
Search Ausbildungssuche
Filter the BA board by occupation, region and start date. Training starts on fixed dates in autumn or spring, depending on occupation and region.
Apply directly to companies
You apply to the company, not to the BA or to Opporiva. Send several tailored applications and stay open to more than one region.
Sign the training contract
Get the signed contract and, except for IHK training, confirmation of your vocational-school place. BAMF says in-company training also needs BA approval.
Build the visa file
Collect the contract, B1 certificate, proof of livelihood, health insurance and authenticated school certificate, each with a German translation.
Apply at the German Embassy in Tunis
The embassy checklist (March 2020) asks for an in-person appointment with originals and two copies. Whether Tunis accepts online applications through the Consular Services Portal is to be confirmed.
No place yet: consider the search permit
BAMF describes a residence permit of up to nine months to look for a training place in Germany: under 35, B1 German, a certificate giving access to university, and secured livelihood.
Documents to prepare
Completed national visa application form
Passport valid for at least 6 months, plus a copy of page 2
Biometric passport photo
Motivation letter explaining why you chose the occupation
CV
Training contract signed by a company authorised to train
Vocational-school enrolment confirmation (not needed for IHK training)
B1 German certificate (Goethe-Institut, ÖSD, telc or TestDaF)
Tunisian school certificate or diploma authenticated by the Ministry of Education and the Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Proof of livelihood (training allowance, topped up if needed by a blocked account or declaration of commitment)
Health insurance covering the period from arrival to the start of training
German translations of every document, with originals and two legible copies
From Tunisia
There is no single Tunisian office for Ausbildung: you find the training place yourself, then apply for the visa at the German Embassy in Tunis. The embassy checklist, dated March 2020, says the Tunisian school certificate must be authenticated by the Ministry of Education and then by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs; legalisation by the German Embassy is not needed. Every document must be translated into German, so we suggest using a sworn translator and checking the current version of the checklist before you apply, because its money figures date from 2020. The B1 certificate must come from a recognised examiner (Goethe-Institut, ÖSD, telc, TestDaF). Common mistakes: applying without a signed contract, bringing a language certificate that is not accepted, underestimating living costs when the BA itself says the allowance is often not enough, and paying a middleman. Tunisia's Ministry of Employment warns about unauthorised agencies that post fake offers and take money without placing anyone. Opporiva is free and never applies on your behalf.